American Football in Europe
World Bowl
WLAF • NFL Europe • NFL Europa

World Bowl
World League of American Football
World Bowl I 1991  London Monarchs (W 21-0) Barcelona Dragons, at Wembley Stadium, London (Jun. 9)
World Bowl II 1992  Sacramento Surge (USA) (W 21-17) Orlando Thunder (USA), at Olympic Stadium, Montreal (Jun. 6)
no game 1993 No Competition
no game 1994 No Competition
World Bowl III 1995  Frankfurt Galaxy (W 26-22) Amsterdam Admirals, at Olympisch Stadion, Amsterdam (Jun. 17)
World Bowl IV 1996  Scottish Claymores (W 32-27) Frankfurt Galaxy, at Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh (Jun. 23)
World Bowl V 1997  Barcelona Dragons (W 38-24) Rhein Fire, at Estadi Olimpic, Barcelona (Jun. 22)
NFL Europe
World Bowl VI 1998  Rhein Fire (W 34-10) Frankfurt Galaxy, at Waldstadion, Frankfurt (Jun. 14)
World Bowl VII 1999  Frankfurt Galaxy (W 38-24) Barcelona Dragons, at Rheinstadion, Düsseldorf (Jun. 27)
World Bowl VIII 2000  Rhein Fire (W 13-10) Scottish Claymores, at Waldstadion, Frankfurt (Jun. 25)
World Bowl IX 2001  Berlin Thunder (W 24-17) Barcelona Dragons, at Amsterdam Arena (Jun. 30)
World Bowl X 2002  Berlin Thunder (W 26-20) Rhein Fire, at Rheinstadion, Düsseldorf (Jun. 22)
World Bowl XI 2003  Frankfurt Galaxy (W 35-16) Rhein Fire, at Hampden Park, Glasgow (Jun. 14)
World Bowl XII 2004  Berlin Thunder (W 30-24) Frankfurt Galaxy, at Arena Aufschalke, Gelsenkirchen (Jun. 12)
World Bowl XIII 2005  Amsterdam Admirals (W 27-21) Berlin Thunder, at LYU Arena, Düsseldorf (Jun. 11)
NFL Europa
World Bowl XIV 2006  Frankfurt Galaxy (W 22-7) Amsterdam Admirals, at LTU Arena, Düsseldorf (May 27)
World Bowl XV 2007  Hamburg Sea Devils (W 37-28) Frankfurt Galaxy, at Cimmerzbank-Arena, Frankfurt (Jun. 23)

NFL Europa disbanded on Aug. 2, 2007.
• Official use of Roman Numerals began with World Bowl IX in 2001. Past games were renumbered accordingly.
• An American league, the World Football League (WFL) held World Bowl I on Dec. 5, 1973:
    World Bowl I  1973  Birmingham Americans (W 22-21) Florida Blazers  at Birmingham, Ala. (Dec. 5).
   The WFL folded part way through the 1975 season
• A minor league WFL began 2008. Their World Bowl continues the numbering sequence of the old WFL:
   World Bowl II   2008  Oklahoma Thunder (W 29-6) Austin Gamebreakers  at Shreveport, La.. (Oct. 18).
   World Bowl III  2009  Oklahoma Thunder (W 41-12) Dallas Diesel  at Birmingham, Ala. (Aug. 29).
   World Bowl IV  2010  Oklahoma Thunder (W 52-10) Des Moines Blaze  at Birmingham, Ala. (Aug 1).
    º In 2011, this WFL became the Alliance Football League after a merger with a different league.
    º World Bowl V, scheduled for Tulsa was moved to Shreveport and renamed National Championship.
• The World Indoor Football League (WIFL) began 1988:
   World Bowl I was scheduled for 8/29/1988, but the WIFL folded before the date.

Go to the Amazing Sports Lists!
This list is compiled and designed by Paul S. Luchter

  Updated 7/12/2012
©All rights reserved.